Skip to navigation Skip to main content


The National Lottery Awards

Time is up to vote for your favourite National Lottery funded project 2017.

Thank you for all your support, it means that your chosen project could be in with the chance of winning a £5,000 prize and nationwide acclaim on the BBC One National Lottery Awards show.

You can still click on the categories above to take a look at this year’s inspirational finalists.

Follow @LottoGoodCauses on Twitter and National Lottery Good Causes on Facebook for the latest update on the National Lottery Awards 2017. #NLAwards

You can watch all of our 2016 winners here.

About the awards

The National Lottery Awards are the annual search to find the UK's favourite Lottery-funded projects.

Lottery players raise £30 million each week for projects across the UK and the Awards are a great way of celebrating the unsung heroes improving lives with National Lottery funding.

Now in their 15th year, the Awards recognise the incredible difference that Lottery-funded projects have made to people, places and communities all across the UK through the 525,000 grants awarded since 1994.

There are seven categories, reflecting the different types of projects to benefit from National Lottery funding: Art, Education, Environment, Health, Heritage, Sport and Voluntary/Charity.

“Our Awards recognition has seen increased interest in what we do generally, more support from volunteers and supporters, together with increased donations. The award continues to send a great message to our veterans and charity family that people genuinely care about them.” - Dick Goodwin, Vice president of the Taxi Charity, winner of Best Voluntary Project in 2016

“Winning one of the UK’s top heritage awards was a game-changer for the Lion Salt Works Museum.  The publicity the win attracted, put the Museum firmly on the national map as a place worth making a special visit to see. In turn, this led to a rise in visitor numbers and awareness of the uniqueness of the site. But very importantly, the win also generated a huge amount of regional pride because the Museum, which tells the story of salt, represents Cheshire’s landscape, history and people.”

- Councillor Louise Gittins, Cabinet Member for Communities and Wellbeing at Cheshire West and Chester Council.  Lion Salt Works was voted Best Heritage Project 2016.


Good Cause Finder

We're changing lives in your local community.

Apply for funding

Become a 'Change Maker' and help transform your community.